Words to Inspire

Journeys Out Yonder

I’m reading E.O. Wilson’s book, Biophilia, for the first time. I have biophilia: the innate tendency to focus on life and life-like processes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A tide pool to explore, in San Diego, CA.

 

Wilson’s book are his thoughts on humans, and our connection with other life forms and each other, on Earth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Plants

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Minerals

082309_17051Pets

DeerWildlife

Last night I read a most inspirational quote, a memorial tribute to Hermann Minkowski, by Daivd Hilbert, about the “…perpetual cycle with gentle botanic images”. His words speak volumes about why I do what I do, why I say what I say, and why I teach the way I do.

 

“Our Science, which we loved above everything, had brought us together. It appeared to us as a flowering garden. In this garden there were wellworn paths where one might look around at leisure and enjoy oneself without effort, especially at the side…

View original post 56 more words

4 thoughts on “Words to Inspire

  1. Hi Maryinline, your post is really inspirational and reading it, is like breathing fresh air. I was editing the collection of ideas on MDG – United Nations Millenium Development Goals when your post came in…. I was happy to learn that I am not alone, indeed, with regards to biophilia….looks forward to read more posts from you…please share more of your ideas with us….have a great day!

  2. Thanks Henry. I’ve been reading several different genres of books lately, and as I approach a new year teaching 5 year olds at Carbondale’s Waldkinder Adventure Preschool, I’m gravitating towards the classic “get outside and be in the world” books. I felt this one was long over due! Next on my list is Coyote!

Leave a Reply

